I want to be the Mayor of Cat Island.

I am not making this up. There is an island in Japan known as Cat Island. I want to be the major of Cat island! Or at least a council member.
So I’ve read a few articles, like this one, and this one, to try and get an idea of how this island of cats came to be, and this is what I found out.

So there’s this tiny island off the coast of Japan, a short ferry journey from Ishinomaki, called Tashirojima. Surrounded by sea, it was once a very prosperous fishing island. With all that fish, came rats. So the folks on Tashirojima decided to let a few cats loose, to sort out the rat situation. But the cats kind of loved it there, and had lots of baby cats, and now the whole island is swarming with furry felines.
The people that live are all pretty old, so they’re hoping that if Cat Island attracts tourists, maybe some of them will fall in love with the place, and come back to live there.

MOST IMPORTANTLY:
1) There are cat-shaped buildings.
2) There are cat shrines.

Take a look, why don’t you.

I’m saving for a one way ticket to Cat Island. I wonder if I can take my cats with me?

x Georgia

[Images from here.]

About Whatever's cool with me

Emilie is in New York, and Georgia is in Melbourne, Australia. This is where their daily dialogue about fashion, music, art & stuff-they-love continues.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I want to be the Mayor of Cat Island.

  1. Alicia says:

    I want to go there…

Leave a Reply

